Emeritus Professor
School of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities
Department of Social Sciences
EW Level 1 Hawthorn campus


Graduated BA (1970), MA (Qual) (1973) and PhD (1981) from the University of Queensland. Career has included academic positions in Political Science and History at UQ (1971-77), QUT (1974-75),Chisholm Institute of Technology (1978-90) and Monash University (1990-2005). Appointed to Swinburne University of Technology in 2005 as Professor of Victorian State Parliamentary Democracy—Emeritus since 2016. Research interests are in Australian politics, particularly electoral systems and behaviour, the National Party of Australia and Victorian and Queensland State Politics.

He has published in academic journals such as The Australian Journal of Political Science, Australian Journal of Politics and History, Labour History, Australasian Parliamentary Review and Political Science (NZ). Books include: Electoral Democracy: Australian Prospects, MUP, 2011 (co-editor), Limiting Democracy: The Erosion of Electoral Rights in Australia, UNSW Press, 2006 (co-author), The Victorian Premiers 1856-2006, Federation Press, 2006 (co-editor) and numerous chapters in academic monographs.

%d bloggers like this: